CUET 2023 Latest Update: Meghalaya and other Northeast states are exempted from CUET till 2024

CUET 2023 Latest Update

The Government of India has exempted Meghalaya and other Northeast States from the CUET entrance examination till 2024. This would mean students cannot apply to universities in the Northeast with their CUET results.

The Government of India took the latest decision after Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma wrote to Union Minister of Education Dharmendra Pradhan. In his letter, the Chief Minister sought exemption for higher studies aspiring students of Meghalaya from CUET.

In the CUET latest news today, the government of India has extended the exemption to Meghalaya, as well as other states in the Northeast, from the admission process into central universities in specific regions through Common University Entrance Test (CUET).

A communiqué issued by P.K. Singh, undersecretary to the government of India, ministry of education, dated March 15, said, “Given the geographical conditions, hilly terrains, far-flung locations, limited digital connectivity infrastructure etc. as an impediment in conducting the CUET in Northeastern regions, the central universities of Northeastern regions were allowed to take admission in the affiliated colleges to the central university as per past practices instead of CUET for the year 2022-2023.”

“Keeping in view the present situation, it has been decided that the above exemption may be extended for one more year for 2023-2024,” the statement from the centre read.

The CUET latest update is available on the official website CUET Samarth ac in. The latest development would allow students to apply to the following universities in the Northeast through an independent admission process;

  • Sikkim University
  • Rajiv Gandhi University
  • Manipur University
  • Assam University
  • Tezpur University
  • Nagaland University
  • Tripura University
  • Mizoram University
  • NEHU
  • HNGBU, Uttarakhand

Where can I apply through CUET 2023?

Though the government has exempted a few universities from CUET till 2024, there are several universities a student can apply to.

The list of participating universities in CUET 2023 is mentioned below:

CUET (UG) – 2023 Central University

Aligarh Muslim University
Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University
Banaras Hindu University
Central Sanskrit University
Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh
Central University of Andhra Pradesh
Central University of Gujarat
Central University of Haryana
Central University of Himachal Pradesh
Central University of Jammu
Central University of Jharkhand
Central University of Karnataka
Central University of Kashmir
Central University of Kerala
Central University of Odisha
Central University of Punjab
Central University of Rajasthan
Central University of South Bihar
Central University of Tamil Nadu
Indira Gandhi National Tribal University
Jamia Millia Islamia
Jawaharlal Nehru University
Mahatma Gandhi Antarrashtriya Hindi Vishwavidyalaya
Mahatma Gandhi Central University
Maulana Azad National Urdu University
National Sanskrit University
Pondicherry University
Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University
The English and Foreign Languages University
University of Allahabad
University of Delhi
University of Hyderabad
Visva-Bharati University

CUET (UG) – 2023 State University

Barkatullah University
Cluster University of Jammu
Cluster University of Srinagar
Delhi Skill And Entrepreneurship University
Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya
Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Technical University
Dr. B.R. Ambedkar School of Economics University
Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University Delhi
Govt. College for Women, Parade Ground, Jammu
Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University
Indira Gandhi Delhi Technical University for Women
Jiwaji University
Jharkhand Raksha Shakti University
Madan Mohan Malaviya University of Technology
Mahatma Jyotiba Phule Rohilkhand University
Sardar Patel University of Police Security and Criminal Justice
Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University
University Of Jammu
Vikram University

CUET (UG) – 2023 Private University

Apeejay Stya University
Apex University
Arunachal University of Studies
Asbm University
Bahra University (Shimla Hills)
Bennett University
Bml Munjal University
Career Point University
Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj University
G D Goenka University
Galgotias University
GLA University Mathura
Himalayan University Itanagar
IIMT University
Invertis University
Jagan Nath University Bahadurgarh Haryana
Jagannath University
Jaypee University of Information Technology
K.R. Mangalam University
Lovely Professional University
Manav Rachna University
Mangalayatan University Jabalpur
Mangalayatan University, Aligarh
Mewar University
Mody University
Nicmar University, Pune
NIIT University
Nirwan University, Jaipur
RNB Global University
Sangam University
Sanskriti University
Shoolini University
Sikkim Professional University
SRM University
Suresh Gyan Vihar University Jaipur
Teerthanker Mahaveer University
Upes – Dehradun
Usha Martin University
Vivekananda Global University

CUET (UG) – 2023 Deemed University

Avinashilingam Institute for Home Science and Higher Education for Women
Chinmaya Vishwavidyapeeth
Dayalbagh Educational Institute
Footwear Design and Development Institute
Gujarat Vidyapith
Gurukula Kangri
Jamia Hamdard
Lakshmibai National Institute of Physical Education
Manav Rachna International Institute of Research and Studies
Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute
Shobhit University
Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS)
The Gandhigram Rural Institute (DTBU)